Nadal a surprising No. 5 seed at Wimbledon

Yes, is the fifth-ranked player in the world, but has the right to seed its tournament as it sees fit. That’s why it’s surprising the grass-court Grand Slam, which begins Monday in England, kept Nadal at No. 5.

Novak Djokovic, the 2011 titlist, has been named top seed after tournament organizers mirrored the Top 5 in the ATP Rankings. Andy Murray is No. 2 seed and will attempt to become the first British player to capture the Wimbledon crown since Fred Perry in 1936. Third seed Roger Federer, the defending champion, is aiming to capture his eighth Wimbledon title, while fourth seed David Ferrer will hope to improve on his quarterfinal exit last year.

Because Nadal is No. 5, it means that Nadal could meet Djokovic, Murray or Federer in the quarter-finals. Earlier this month, Nadal won his 12th major title at the French Open, beating Ferrer in the finals. He has won seven titles from nine finals since his comeback from injury in February.

This is the first Grand Slam tournament since last year’s Wimbledon that the Big Four of Federer, Nadal, Djokovic and Murray are playing together. Nadal missed last year’s U.S. Open and the Australian Open in January, while Murray was absent from Roland Garros. In 32 of the past 33 Grand Slam tournaments (since 2005 Roland Garros), one of the Big 4 has lifted the champion’s trophy. The only exception came at the ‘09 US Open, where Juan Martin del Potro won the title.

Since the 2010 French Open, Djokovic and Nadal have combined to win 11 of the past 13 Grand Slam titles, with the Spaniard winning six Slam titles and the Serb winning five. Federer won Wimbledon and Murray the U.S. Open last year. Djokovic is the WagerWeb betting favorite this time.


1 Novak Djokovic (SRB)

2 Andy Murray (GBR)

3 Roger Federer (SUI)

4 David Ferrer (ESP)

5 Rafael Nadal (ESP)

6 Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA)

7 Tomas Berdych (CZE)

8 Juan Martin del Potro (ARG)

9 Richard Gasquet (FRA)

10 Marin Cilic (CRO)

11 Stanislas Wawrinka (SUI)

12 Kei Nishikori (JPN)

13 Tommy Haas (GER)

14 Janko Tipsarevic (SRB)

15 Nicolas Almagro (ESP)

16 Philipp Kohlschreiber (GER)

17 Milos Raonic (CAN)

18 John Isner (USA)

19 Gilles Simon (FRA)

20 Mikhail Youzhny (RUS)

21 Sam Querrey (USA)

22 Juan Monaco (ARG)

23 Andreas Seppi (ITA)

24 Jerzy Janowicz (POL)

25 Benoit Paire (FRA)

26 Alexandr Dolgopolov (UKR)

27 Kevin Anderson (RSA)

28 Jeremy Chardy (FRA)

29 Grigor Dimitrov (BUL)

30 Fabio Fognini (ITA)

31 Julien Benneteau (FRA)

32 Tommy Robredo (ESP)


The comments are closed.